hidden tracks, edits and dj-mixes as well as useless but interesting gossip, dedicated to the last four decades of house and disco music. keep the fire burning...


Thursday, April 29, 2010

DiKSO Tape 01 - Terrence Parker (1996)

History... We all know about the almighty creators of electronic music. They were important for everyone even though we did not know them in their time. In most cases they have not influenced us in a direct way but for sure they did. These stories have been written countless times and you all know them.

What I want to talk about are the direct influences and inspirations. Do you remember when friends took you to your first techno party? Or your bigger brother who had a huge record collection you was lurking when he was at school? Sometimes there were small and simple things that could lead you in a completly different direction. Like a mixtape and this is what DiKSO Tape is about.

The first issue in this new DiKSO section is a tape that I have listened more than a hundred times. It is a recording of an (for me) unknown radio show from Detroit with DJ extraordinaire Terrence Parker from the mid nineties.

Disco House was not that new in 1996 and already the big thing in my hometown Hannover but this tape was different. Terrence Parker combined the old and the new in a way that elaborated and pointed out the historical connection of disco, italo and house. Okay, the heavy scratch and transformer action is not everybody's cup of tea but it's fun, fun, fun! So, this is how a simple but special mixtape became the inspiration for me to collect soul, funk and disco and search for the history of house music in a time house music wasn't even born.


A Side

1.) Intro
2.) Terrence Parker - Emancipation Of My Soul
3.) Victor Romeo - You Can't Fight My Love
4.) Debbie Jacobs - Don't You Want My Love
5.) Anita Ward - Ring My Bell
6.) Pineapples - Come On Closer
7.) Leee John - Mighty Power Of Love
8.) Nick Holder - Don't Go Away
9.) Anita K. - Reach Me (At The Top)
10.) Amira - Walk
11.) ???
12.) Seven Grand Housing Authority - Love's Got Me High

B Side

1.) Kevin Yost - Natural High
2.) Mighty Dub Catz - Just Another Groove
3.) Gusto - Disco's Revenge (Busto Rare Bootleg Mix)
4.) Deep City - Let's Dance
5.) Steve 'Silk' Hurley - Jack Your Body
6.) Julian 'Jumpin' Perez - Jack Me Till I Scream
7.) ???
8.) D Train - Music
9.) Fever - Standing In The Shadows Of Love
10.) ???
11.) ???
12.) Freesoul - Disco/Eyes

If someone has further informations on this radio show or is able to solve the question marks in the tracklist please contact me or write a comment.


Tuesday, April 20, 2010

Sa. 24.04.2010 - DiKSO 2 @ Süss War Gestern

DiKSO blog... DiKSO podcasts... DiKSO edits... what's next? A DiKSO app? A DiKSO TV show? DiKSO potholders?

No, it's the DiKSO night @ Berlin's "Süss War Gestern" that completes the DiKSO package! Again, Marc Poppcke and Andi de Luxe open their musical box of pandora and invited the brand new label signing from "Sleazy Beats Records": Daniel Solar. Come by, grab one of a billion sofas and have some drinks with us. See ya!

DiKSO! DiKSO? Ja, DiKSO... Kein Schreibfehler!

Schon irgendwie Disko, aber auch nicht wirklich. Klingt wie Disko sieht aber aus wie House... oder Minimal... oder Techno... Diskoästhetik in minimalistischem Gewande, DiKSO...

Bewaffnet mit eigenen Tracks und Edits treiben MARC POPPCKE und ANDI DE LUXE sowie DANIEL SOLAR, ihr heutiger Gast aus dem Hause SLEAZY BEATS, Diskopuristen und Musiktraditionalisten in den Wahnsinn. Was auf den ersten Blick wohlvertraut scheint, entpuppt sich schon nach wenigen Beats als etwas völlig anderes. Nichts ist heilig, alles ist erlaubt. Und Ernst wird mit Jägermeister abgefüllt. Achtung, 130 BPM werden heute ganz bestimmt nicht erreicht...

DiKSO 2 - Sat., 24.04.2010

Lineup - Daniel Solar (Sleazy Beats Records), Marc Poppcke (Freerange Records) & Andi de Luxe (Mezzomatic)

Entry - free

Drinks - cheap & spicy

Location - Süss War Gestern, Wühlischstr. 43, 10245 Berlin-Friedrichshain

Größere Kartenansicht

Tuesday, April 13, 2010

DiKSO Podcast 03 - Marc Poppcke

Let me tell you something about Marc Poppcke. Don't panic, I won't start with "how it all began", even though i could. And I don't want to tell you about his recent releases on ultracool labels like Jimpster's Freerange Records. And for sure I will not mention his international DJ gigs.

No, I will tell you about a guy that has always been this and that. Of course it's all about four to the floor, he even wrote an assignment about this fact. But sometimes it's house, sometimes it's techno and it's even trance. And this time it's disco. Or is it disco house? Minimal disco? Slowmo trance? Who cares? Marc doesn't! Everytime you thought you got him he is up for something more.

Be aware, this is nothing for purists (und das ist auch gut so!), here is DiKSO podcast number three...

DiKSO Podcast 03 - Marc Poppcke from DiKSO at Letsmix.com

DiKSO Podcast 03 - Marc Poppcke from DiKSO at Letsmix.com.


- Vincenzo & Elmar Schubert "Wanna Love You"
- Pet Shop Boys "West and Girls" (Osvaldo Wilson Edit)
- The Revenge "Looking Up To You"
- Tornado Wallace "Tornado Never Dies"
- Sister Sledge "Lost In Music" (The Revenge Rework)
- Arsenii "Break It Up" (DiKSO Edit)
- Daniel Solar "Stepped Into My Life"
- Marc Poppcke "Can't Hold Back My Love For Music"
- Joey Negro "Beyond The Dance" (The Revenge Demo Mix)
- Loose Fit "Chug" (Greg Wilson Remix)
- Xenon "Galaxy" (Idjut Boys Bonus Beats)
- Gary's Gang "Makin' Music" (DJ Estephe Fun Edit)
- Autodeep "Infernal Affair"
- 40 Thieves feat. Qzen "Don't Turn It Off"
- Sean Brosnan "Sat Jam" (Ray Mang Remix)
- Ray Mang "Look Into My Eyes"

Download this podcast here:

DiKSO Podcast 03 - Marc Poppcke