hidden tracks, edits and dj-mixes as well as useless but interesting gossip, dedicated to the last four decades of house and disco music. keep the fire burning...


Thursday, April 29, 2010

DiKSO Tape 01 - Terrence Parker (1996)

History... We all know about the almighty creators of electronic music. They were important for everyone even though we did not know them in their time. In most cases they have not influenced us in a direct way but for sure they did. These stories have been written countless times and you all know them.

What I want to talk about are the direct influences and inspirations. Do you remember when friends took you to your first techno party? Or your bigger brother who had a huge record collection you was lurking when he was at school? Sometimes there were small and simple things that could lead you in a completly different direction. Like a mixtape and this is what DiKSO Tape is about.

The first issue in this new DiKSO section is a tape that I have listened more than a hundred times. It is a recording of an (for me) unknown radio show from Detroit with DJ extraordinaire Terrence Parker from the mid nineties.

Disco House was not that new in 1996 and already the big thing in my hometown Hannover but this tape was different. Terrence Parker combined the old and the new in a way that elaborated and pointed out the historical connection of disco, italo and house. Okay, the heavy scratch and transformer action is not everybody's cup of tea but it's fun, fun, fun! So, this is how a simple but special mixtape became the inspiration for me to collect soul, funk and disco and search for the history of house music in a time house music wasn't even born.


A Side

1.) Intro
2.) Terrence Parker - Emancipation Of My Soul
3.) Victor Romeo - You Can't Fight My Love
4.) Debbie Jacobs - Don't You Want My Love
5.) Anita Ward - Ring My Bell
6.) Pineapples - Come On Closer
7.) Leee John - Mighty Power Of Love
8.) Nick Holder - Don't Go Away
9.) Anita K. - Reach Me (At The Top)
10.) Amira - Walk
11.) ???
12.) Seven Grand Housing Authority - Love's Got Me High

B Side

1.) Kevin Yost - Natural High
2.) Mighty Dub Catz - Just Another Groove
3.) Gusto - Disco's Revenge (Busto Rare Bootleg Mix)
4.) Deep City - Let's Dance
5.) Steve 'Silk' Hurley - Jack Your Body
6.) Julian 'Jumpin' Perez - Jack Me Till I Scream
7.) ???
8.) D Train - Music
9.) Fever - Standing In The Shadows Of Love
10.) ???
11.) ???
12.) Freesoul - Disco/Eyes

If someone has further informations on this radio show or is able to solve the question marks in the tracklist please contact me or write a comment.


No comments:

Post a Comment